Education · Instructional design

Fitting The Pieces Together

fitting-together

For this week’s assignment, I am going to fit the pieces together by combining what I have learned throughout the course to assess my own learning.

Fitting the Pieces Together

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

The most important that I have noticed about how I learn, and that I think has also had an effect on the way I learn is reading about how the strategies that I use for learning are considered to be of low utility. For example, the strategies that I have always used are highlighting/underlining, and rereading. However, as stated in Dunlosky, Rawson, Marsh, Nathan, & Willingham (2013), highlighting does not do much to increase performance on tasks requiring making inferences. Rereading, on the other hand, is also stated by Dunlosky et al. (2013) as low utility, but the authors do mention some benefits of this strategy, such as having benefits across a wide array of text materials, appearing to have durable effects across delays when rereading is spaced, and being effective for recall-based measures of memory.

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

            I am going to apply some effective techniques from now on, for example, elaboration, and comprehension monitoring (Ormrod, n.d., Laureate education). I think that these techniques will help me with remembering, which is an area that I am having problems with. I think that after reading Dunlosky et al. (2013), my memory issues can be explained through the faulty use of learning strategies. Regarding learning styles, I still believe that I am more of a visual learner. In terms of multiple intelligences (Armstrong, 2009), I believe that I have more capabilities in certain areas than in others, for example, in linguistic intelligence, logical-mathematical intelligence, and intrapersonal intelligence. The linguistic intelligence can explain my affinity for writing; the logical-mathematical intelligence might explain my thinking patterns in categorizing, classifying, inferencing, and generalizing; and, the intrapersonal intelligence can explain how my self-knowledge has led me to understand that I have to use other learning strategies to assist me in remembering better, to be aware of my moods and how they affect my learning, and to have self-discipline, which has helped me learn well in an online, self-directed environment. In regard to learning theories, after completing the learning matrix and mind map assignments, I have seen how networks of learning are very important, as shown in connectivism, and how we are actually involved in social interactions, even in our online learning communities, and environment.

What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

            After reading about Web 2.0 tools for our mind map assignment, I realized that I use technology for searching, remembering, creating, and sharing what I learn. For example, for searching I use Google; for remembering, I use my calendar online and on my phone, Cortana (assistant similar to Siri), and bookmarking; for creating, I use Microsoft office tools, Wix for website creation, and Teachable for course creation; and for sharing, I use my social networking sites such as Facebook and Instagram, LinkedIn, blogs, chats, Skype, and my personal networks.

 

References

Armstrong, T. (2009). Multiple intelligences in the classroom (3rd ed.). Alexandria, VA:

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.

Dunlosky, J., Rawson, K. A., Marsh, E. J., Nathan, M. J., & Willingham, D. T. (2013). Improving

Students’ Learning with Effective Learning Techniques: Promising Directions from

Cognitive and Educational Psychology. Psychological Science in the Public Interest, 14(1),

4-58. doi:10.1177/1529100612453266

 

 

Leave a Reply

