Education · Instructional design

Connectivism: My Reflection Post.

connectivism_image_png_opt283x212o00s283x212

My network has changed the way I learn considerably. For example, when I was younger, we did not have the Internet yet. I learned the traditional way by reading only books, and my personal network. In my teens, the Internet arrived on Aruba, and I had the slow connection via the phone. Any time someone lifted the phone, the connection would be lost, and I had to start all over again. This caused an interruption when I was looking for information to learn. When I went to the United States to study in 2001, I experienced a fast, and wireless, connection, and it was at this time that learning became faster and more convenient for me. I could search for new information in an efficient manner that took less time. For me, the social networking site, especially Facebook, has helped me learn from others through discussions about different topics, including the groups that I am a member of which discuss specific topics. The Web 2.0 tools are mostly new to me, specifically the RSS feed, Teachable, WordPress, Google docs, and Grammarly. I did not have any previous knowledge of, or experience with, these educational tools. They help me share my own opinions and knowledge, write better, and learn from others. The Web 3.0 tool that I use is Cortana, which is an assistant, similar to Siri from Apple. Cortana knows all my preferences for different issues, and it keeps all of my information handy for me in one place, sends me reminders about things I have on my calendar, and keeps me organized. Via blogs, I learn about the topics that I am interested in in a concise way.

The digital tools that best facilitate learning for me are using the internet to search for information, watching videos, reading blogs, and using the online library, and Blackboard from Walden University.

In order to gain new knowledge, I tend to search via Google, search the online library, or download books on my Barnes and Noble Nook app. I also ask people whom I believe have knowledge about the new information I am seeking.

My personal learning network supports the central tenets of connectivism in that my learning occurs through a ‘distribution within a network, it is social, technologically enhanced, and the network is diverse’ (Davis, Edmunds, & Kelly-Bateman, 2008).

 

Reference

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.),

            Emerging perspectives learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from

http://epltt.coe.uga.edu/index.php?title=Connectivism

 

Leave a Reply

