Education · Instructional design

My Interests as an Instructional Designer.

Hello Everyone!

Welcome to my first blog assignment in the Learning Theories and Instruction course at Walden University.

I have chosen three blogs on which I will write an overview and a critique.

The first blog is by Snazlan, written on October 15, 2016. The blog focuses on instructional methods that are learner-centered. The format of the blog is a table with different learner-centered instructional methods, which I find very visually appealing and easy to follow. The author goes into a brief description of each of the instructional methods, which include: 1) Cooperative learning; 2) Presentations; 3) Panels/Experts; 4) KWL (Know Want Learned); 5) Brainstorming; 6) Create media; 7) Discussion; 8) Small group; 9) Case study; 10) Jigsaw; 11) Learning center; 12) Experiments; 13) Role play; 14) Simulation; 15) Lab; 16) Workshop; 17) Demonstration; 18) Index card; 19) Inquiry based learning; 20) Mental models; 21) Project; 22) Problem based learning; 23) Discovery; 24) Q&A session; 25) Social media; 26) Games; 27) Competitions; and 28) Debate. For me as a novice in the field of education, I found this table to be very informative. It has shown me many different ways to engage learners; some of them completely new to me, for example, the KWL strategy. I believe that it is a helpful tool for educators.

The second blog is by Lora Pezzell, written on September 13, 2016. The blog focuses on instructional design for educators. The author states different ways in which instructional designers can assist educators through the use of educational technology tools in integrated learning systems, technology literacy, and personal development, and through the use of learning theories for communication, project management, and research and evaluation. As a novice in the field of instructional design, this blog explained to me in a very easy way what it entails to be an instructional designer, and how instructional designers can assist in the field of education, which is where I want to work.

The third blog is by Nancy Wozniak, written on October 6, 2016. The blog focuses on e-learning instructional design. The author displays different theories for design for motivation, such as the flow theory, self-determination theory, and path-goal theory. The material is visually presented in graphs, and images, which make it easy to understand. Below, the author goes into more details motivation and the three theories. As stated by Wozniak (2016), flow theory entails the highest manifestation of intrinsic motivation, where the learner is completely and voluntarily engaged in the course, and where he or she is able to control the pace of the course according to his or her needs and preferences; the self-determination theory focuses on fulfilling the learners psychological needs which will facilitate self-growth and promote well-being; and, the path-goal theory, which entails the principles that can be used by leaders (trainers, instructors) to motivate followers (learners) into action. This blog has added to my knowledge in that I have never read about these theories before. They can be used to engage learners to feel motivated to take your course.

As you probably know by now after reading my first blog, I am a novice in the field of education, namely instructional design and technology, and I am very excited to be in this field. I am deeply interested in being able to offer online courses in psychology as my future career. I am also deeply interested in bringing e-learning into our university system. This is why I have chosen as my specialization, online learning.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my first blog, and I look forward to your comments, feedback, and advice!

References

Pezzell, L. (2016, September 13). Instructional design for educators. Retrieved from

https://wordpress.com/read/blogs/116669534/posts/4

Snazlan (2016, October 15). Instructional methods- Learner centered. Retrieved from

https://wordpress.com/read/blogs/16410707/posts/2112

Wozniak, N. (2016, October 4). E-learning instructional design. Retrieved from

https://wordpress.com/read/blogs/2672189/posts/477

Leave a Reply

